Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many students, now-a-days are failing to get employment after finishing their degree due to many simple reasons. They are trying to do

something that they aren't interested in the first place due to the societial pressures. It is good that, students pursue their passion. Society can't determine the fate of a individual, only that particular individual can determine his fate. The prompt suggests that education institutions have a responsibility to guess the future of an individual and dissuade them from pursuing fields of study that they are unlikely to succeed. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement due to two reasons.

To begin, No one can predict the future of an individual. Everyone changes at some point, and can become good at things they feared previously. Educatioal institutions shouldn't persuade students to take a particular path. Instead, they should conduct proper sessions to

understand the individual and to make them understand themselves about the path they are getting into. If one is determined that he can succeed in particular path, it is his decision to make. For instance, Many people dissuaded to make their child study computer science decade back in India especially due to their inclination to other departments like electrial, mechanical engineering. But that changed rapidly as the technology boomed. Now, they can't change their child's profession as he as already graduated by now. We can't imagine how would his life be instead if he chase his own passion.

Further, In some situations, if the student is in dilemma to chose his path, and mistakenly chose a path that he can't pursue due to its difficulty, then the educational institions can offer their advice to make them completely understand the path. For instance, In India, many students dream of getting to IAS/IPS but they don't have proper guidance to understand the capacity of an individual that his dream require. Every year, lakhs of people compete for less than 1000 positions which make their goal extremely risky. In situations like these,

educational institions can give the students their valuable guidance.

To finish, it is the responsibility of the educational institutions to offer proper guidance to its students and can't dissuade them to

change their goals to paths they aren't sure of succeed. The decision should be left to the individual as he knows himself more than anyone else can.