The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage states the author’s conclusion that the Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents, when choosing a place for their children to learn music. This statement is based on assumptions that are not necessarily true, misleading the readers with vague and doubtful informations.

First of all, it is mentioned that a reason for enrolling a child at this school is the fact that they welcome youngsters at all ability and age levels, with any auditions. Although this could be an attractive information for some people, it raises serious questions concerning the quality of the music lessons on that facility. If any child is able to attend to the classes, the results may not be as promising for more talented youngsters as if they had classes where a selection in made before the classes start, providing a higher level of musical education. On the other hand, if the Mozart School’s policy is based on dividing the students according to their skill levels, making it possible for a kid to progress on the classes even with no previous knowledge in music whatsoever, but without holding the more skilled kids back, then it would be a positive aspect of the school. In other words, the author would benefit from detailing this policy, instead of just assuming that is a good thing.

Another point of view raised in the argument is the author’s bold assumption that a wide variety of musical instruments, styles and genres is an indicative of good musical education. This could become an issue for the children if the teacher on the Mozart School are not specialized enough to understand the nuances of each musical instrument and style. If the same teacher is responsible for everything taught in the school, the quality of the education could, again, be questionable. If there are many different teachers, each one of them with deep knowledge of the area he/she is trying to teach the children, then that fact should be pointed out in order to support the author’s point of view.

While it is reasonable to say that including some of the most distinguished musicians in the area is a synonym of good education, this could also raise questions wether they have patience and understanding for teaching children. More information regarding that is necessary in order to convince well informed parents to make a wise decision. To top it all, the information the many Mozart graduates have become well-known and highly paid musicians is vague and doubtful, since it does not provide real examples and names to evidence this information.

The author’s conclusion is vague and rely on assumptions with no key factors on which strong analyzes should be based on. The assumptions are weak, flawed and do not support his/her point of view.