The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The newsletter argues that the main reason for termination of western gazelle is due to larger number of predators in eastern habitat. However, the newsletter has overlooked several circumstances and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the newsletter focuses on the effect of the predators. However, there might be other factors responsible for the disappearance of the gazelle. There might be a possibility that the eastern gazelle might have evolved better than the western gazelle, consequencing a natural selection on these species. Moreover, the habitat of eastern preserve might be untoward to preys leading a substantial decline on these species. Furthermore, there might be a possibility that the western lion has effected the eastern habitat, resulting a current situation.

Secondly, the newsletter does not consider other possibilities of this disappearance. Since it only states that the population of western gazelle eliminated on eastern preserve, there is a need to other statistics in other region. The western gazelle might have just moved to other preserve and not being eliminated by the predators in the eastern region. Moreover, there might be a possibility that the observers simply could not distinguish the western gazelle to eastern gazelle.

Thirdly, the newsletter condones the effect of the rainfall since it does not have significant changes compared to western region. However, without actual references with these two region, we can not verify this effect is slight. Moreover, just because the previous observation was similar between the regions does not mean the result of the rainfall will be the same three years afterward.

In conclusion, the newsletter's assertion that the main reason for the elimination of the western gazelle is due to larger number of predators in eastern preserve relies on weak substantiation. Since there is no direct evidence on this assumption, the newsletter's argument is unpersuasive.