The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self- esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviours."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above newsletter, the author argues that families should have as many meals together as possible with their adolescents since it will prevent them from turning into bad behaviours. The author bolstered his recommendation based on the premise of the survey report which states that adolescents who eat at least 7 meals per week with their family are less likely inclined to consume illegal substances since the author directly correlates the number of family meals per week with less exposer to illegal substances. Furthermore, the author supports his claim by stating that those who have more meals with their family have better grades and higher self-esteem. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues the efficacy of having the number of family meals with adolescents based on the survey without giving any admissible evidence regarding the survey. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the survey. Is the survey representative? Perhaps in the Appleton school district, there are 50000 adolescents. Then the sample size of the survey is too small for any conclusions. Furthermore, is the survey still representative? Maybe the survey is conducted 3 years ago, then one can not argue the effectiveness of having meals with the family. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any necessary evidence regarding the survey. If the author can provide more information about the survey perhaps in the form of a statistical data set of each years report of all adolescents in the district then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author states that having more family meals together will curb the penchant for turning to illegal substances without any evidence. Is family meals the only factor behind the less exposure to illegal substances? Maybe a few years back strict legal action and severe punishment upon consumption of drugs to curtail drug consumption among adolescents is the reason behind the illegal substance endemic. Perhaps after including the detrimental effects of drug consumption in each school’s curriculum adolescents are becoming more cognizant about their health and turning off from the drugs. The author does not provide any genuine evidence about the less consumption of drugs. If the author can provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a research survey regarding the reasons behind less drug consumption then it will prop up the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author directly associates the number of having more meals with family with better grades and high self-esteem without any legitimate evidence. One may ask questions about the authenticity of the correlation of higher grades with the number of meals with family per week. In other words, are those related? Maybe most of the adolescents in the district do not live with their families. Even if this is not the case, parents of most adolescents have to do 3 jobs to support their family so they don’t have the chance of having meals with their adolescents on a regular basis. The author does not provide any data regarding his assumptions. The author has to provide more information perhaps in the form of a systematic research study regarding the efficacy of family meals on better grades and high self-esteem to rectify his argument otherwise, the author’s argument is seriously fictitious.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that having families as many meals as possible with their adolescents will prevent them from bad behaviours.