The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

An article in a business magazine states that there is a correlation between the success of an advertising firm and the number of hours of sleep required by their executives . So the author uses this idea to conclude that , for prosperity of a business,only people who require less than 6 hours of sleep must be hired . However this conclusion can be justified ,only if the following questions can be answered .

The study mentioned in the article tells us that there is a relation between the success of a company and the number of hours of sleep required by its employees . But how can we assume that the number of hours of sleep is the only metric that contributes to the employee's productivity . Maybe the executives who require lesser amount of sleep are very skilled at their jobs , which could be the reason for the fast growth of the company . So the argument prematurely assumes that a company’s success is only defined by the number of hours of sleep of it’s associates.

The author of this article draws the given conclusion based on the study conducted on executives of advertising firms . How can we know if the same results can be expected for all businesses? There could be businesses , which rely on the creativity of their employees , for which they need to be well rested , requiring a higher amount of sleep . Amount of sleep required by a person also depends on various factors like age , workload etc. Social and physical demographics of employees can vary from business to business. Hence it is wrong to assume that the reason for the success of advertising firms can be extrapolated to all businesses . So the argument takes a flawed stance by generalizing the results obtained from a very specific study.

In conclusion , the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed , due to its reliance on various unwarranted assumptions . If the author can provide more evidence (perhaps a more detailed study about success of firms which includes people from various businesses) , it could be possible to discern if hiring people who require lesser amount of sleep will be beneficial to the success of a business.