The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A study published in an article recomended that a if a business want to prosper, it should only hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This conclusion was reached owing to the recent study of amount of sleep by 300 advertising executives and the success of their firms. the evidence given was based on higher profit margin and faster growth rate recorded by executives who sleep less than 6 hours. however, the argument based the result and conlusion on faulty details and did not provide answer to many questons raised and thus not lend validity to assumptions made.

firslty, it is pertinent to ask how valid are the result of this study? Was the research conducted following standard procedure for research? the whole arguments rest on the study conducted among three hundred advertising executives. The argument did not state where and how this study was conducted. For instance, what if the advertising executives in this study acheivement of higher profit rate and faster growth are not really as a result of the number ofhours they sleep but maybe as a result of certain skills or education. thenumber of people in this study involves a paltry three hundred. is it logical to use a such study to make a genralization on the succes of a business. the argument is largely flawed except more insight is provided .

secodly, assuming the study was valid for advertising agency, Is their any evidence that suggest a relationship between advertising and other business? the author assumes that if lesser sleep could be responsible for the success of advertising executives maybe , it can bring about the same success in other business as a result of the authors conclusion. there was no evidence stated for this important assumotions and as such the argument do not provide any solid evidence.

Conclusively, the authors opinon that no more than 6 hours of sleep per night increase the chance of business to prosper is built on faulty unstated assumptions and thus the arguemtn does not hold water. However, the argument can be improved by providing answers to the questions raised in this essay in a bit to further lend credence to it.