The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The University of Wabash has done a commendable job of even "considering" making community service mandatory for all graduate and undegraduate students. In today's world of competition and avarice, this is a humble attempt at instilling humility and helpfulness among the younger generation.

The initiative being considered by the university to involve students in charitable works would be a great platform for exposure of the students to the realities of the world around them. It could provide a deeper understanding and retrospection of what life entails beyond success and money. The monthly connects with charities in need is great chance to interact and understand the real life problems in our society. On a broader perspective, it could be a source of learning of life lessons if I may add.

However, the main objective of this practice to create 'well-rounded and charitable' students is debatable. Making the community service a compulsory requirement for all, sounds more like a punishment that what one would rather do out of genuine interest. Considering one hates to do it, he or she would simply be completing the task mechanically or find means to skip it. A genuine feeling to 'give' would not be present.

On a brighter note, irrespective of whether the university is able to nurture every student to becoming a more well-rounded individual, it would definitely have achieved its motive through one individual, if not all, and that is an achievement nonetheless.