The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it might be true what the study implies about rhesus monkeys, but there are some serious gaps while providing the results of the study.

First of all, the study reports that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings.The study was done on only eighteen rhesus monkeys.They provide no information about how they chose these monkeys for their study.It can be possible that there are other second or third born rhesus monkeys who are are as active as the first borns but they are not included in 18 rhesus monkeys.If we can increase the number monkeys, it is possible to get different outcome.

Secondly, they are also claimimg that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations but no additional information is provided about how do they know this fact or what kind of study they have done to find this information.

Thirdly, the study repots that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. It can be possible the monkeys that are chosen for the study who are having several offspring are not as healthly as the monkeys who are having their first offspring.The study says nothing about the health of the pregnant monkeys.

The accuracy of an study vastly depends on the dataset of the study.The lack of information about the dataset or small dataset can often provide misleading results. The results of this study can be severely misleading if the dataset is not standard.