Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument assumes that since the declining of the deer populations coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.There can be other reasons behind the declination.More specific evidence is required to evaluate the argument.

First of all, it can be possible the plants on which the deer feed on, are declining because of weather changing or global warming. Because of lack of food the number of deer can decline.This fact should be taken in account before reaching any conclusion.

Secondly, it is possible the deers are struggling to adapt in changed environment caused by global warming. They are getting sick easily and thus becoming prone to various diseases which is causing their number of declination.The health of the deers should be examined to have a clear view of this problem.

Thirdly, the deers habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. As the ice are melting in some of the places, their habitat is getting more limited.The scarcity of habitat areas can seriously harm the number of deers.

Fourthly, it can be possible the number of predators in Canada's arctic regions has increased suddenly which is causing the declination in deers number.

If these evidences can be proven to be true, the argument will be seriously weakened.