The following appeared in a popular health and fitness magazine.

"A ten-year study of a group of 552 men from Elysia showed that long-term consumption of caffeinated black tea was associated with a much lower risk of stroke. Of these men, those who drank more than three cups of black tea a day had a 70 percent lower risk of stroke than those who drank no tea. These results suggest that health-conscious people should consume at least three cups of black tea a day, beginning early in life."

In the popular health and fitness magazine, it is stated that those who desire good health or people who are conscious of their health should start consuming at least three cups of black tea beginning in the early times of their lives. This was substantiated by the fact that a survey that was carried out years ago amongst men who consumed caffeinated black tea, the incidence of stroke was reduced. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

To begin with, does the result of a study from ten years ago still retain it's validity in this currently era? In other words, can the result from a study conducted ten years ago on only 552 men be used as a generalisation for every body? Perhaps, the study was only relevant ten years ago due to some circumstances surrounding the survey or people who the study was about. It is possible that the people who partook in the study have lower risk of strike due to their genetic makeup. If either of these scenarios holds true, the conclusion given above is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Does consumption of caffeinated black tea and black tea means the same thing? In addition, does all black tea contain caffeine? Perhaps, it is possible that the reduction in the risk if stroke is due to the caffeine contained in the black tea but the recommendation is that health conscious people should consume at least three cup of black tea. If they keep consuming black tea without caffeine, then the assumption is based on faulty reasoning.

Finally, can the reduction in stroke not be attributed to other reasons? Perhaps the men who partook in the survey where consuming other things apart from the black tea which reduced their incidence of stroke. Perhaps it might be due to the fact that the mean under survey where leaving a healthy life because they were under study and this the health lifestyle was responsible for the reduction in the risk of having stroke.

In sum, as the argument stands, it is not well substantiated and based on unwarranted assumption and so it is logically flawed. Inorder to be able to critically analyze this argument, the three questions would have to be answered and perhaps, a current day scientific study that presents facts in form of data will make possible to fully evaluate the recommendation that people who are conscious of their health should start consuming black tea early in life.