When we concern ourselves with the study of history, we become storytellers. Because we

can never know the past directly but must construct it by interpreting evidence, exploring

history is more of a creative enterprise than it is an objective pursuit. All historians are

storytellers."

History is an integral part of any community. There is no society without history. History as it stands defines the cultural heritage, ethos, mores and the laws guiding any society. The author contends that when we learn history, we concern ourselves more with telling stories and hence we are indulge more in story telling because the past can never be well known by any one. The author contends that when interpretations are provided to history, one must construct it by interpreting evidence and thus, putting our creativity into use. In as much as I agree with the author that interpreting history require creativity and it is tantamount to an act of storytelling, I disagree that all historians are story tellers. I would be stating my views in in the three points below.

To begin with, history encompasses the efforts of heroes who have gone before us, occurrences that have happened in time past that has that has paved way for contemporary developments. When we concern ourselves with the study of history, we are concern ourselves with telling of the stories of the past to the present generation which if just spoken or read directly to the contemporary generation might not really learn from history being taught and hence a little bit of creativity is needed to explicitly explain history. For example, explaining world war one and world war two to a child may seems recondite to the child, but when history are presented in form of a story, it becomes more relatable and lessons from history can be effectively impacted.

In addition, apart from the fact that history are taught in form of stories in other to ensure the message being passed is appropriately taken as stated above, the act of teaching history also involve interpreting evidences. Histories are well documented evidences that can only be well utilized when the evidence are interpreted by someone who is knowledgeable and not just by an amateur. IF history can be understood by everyone, then we would not have people who specialized in the study of historical figures. Admittedly, creativity is required in history, but history should be treated with objectivity and not just pure creativity because creativity can be subjected to subjectivity, depending on the historian point of view or moral or ethos and mores.

In addition, in as much as I agree that story historians are story tellers, I disagree that all historians are story tellers. Some historians are involve with finding out and making researches about things that happened in the past to ensure histories are properly passed down and not just moral sentiments of the historians are passed down in history.

In sum, the act of teaching history requires a little bit of creativity and historians impute creativity to ensure histories are well understood and the lessons are learnt. I disagree that all historians are story tellers. History involves more than just telling stories and historians need to be objective and not just creative in the interpretation of history.