The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that students’ enrollments in public school in Calatrava city will decrease in ten years due to declined birthrate; however, the author does not make a cogent case. It is understandable that public schools may not need the same budget for the future, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that the birthrate in Calatrava city has decreased to half last year compare to five years ago, but the arguer does not give any information about statistic. The total number of young women populations could be decreased during last five years which can be the reason for declined birthrate. However, the author cannot predict if the same decline rate is going to continue in the future. There is possibility that other families who have school-age children will migrate to Calatrava city during next few years which is going to increase student’s registration. Thus, the arguer cannot predict the dramatic decrease of students’ enrollment in next decade.

In addition, the author claims that public schools will not need the same budget as today because the number of students will decline in next ten years, but this prediction is not logical because the arguer does not provide enough evidences for it. Surely, there are many changes during next ten years which are worthen to be counted. Even with dramatic decrease of students’ admissions, the same budget may be required for public schools in the future. Classrooms will eventually get old in ten years, so the budget will be necessary to fix classrooms. Moreover, laboratory instruments and computers may need to be renewed in the future which require the budget.

Last but not least, the arguer does not bring evidences to prove if adult population is going to increase in the city. Many families who are adult may move to other cities in the future, so the author cannot guarantee to spend money for adult facilities and programs. To strength his/her recommendation, the author needs to investigate about age and gender of the city population every year.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about age, gender, and total population of the city every year, and the budget requirements for public schools. After answering these questions, the arguer can make such a conclusion.