The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase.

Planning committee of Calatrava predicts a decrease in student population and an increase in adult population for ten years later. This committee wants to assign budget to adult’s facilities by cutting the funds for education and recreational facilities. This argument flawed in many reasons.

First, birthrate prediction in next ten years isn’t the same as last year. There is no evidence that shows birthrate will decrease. Maybe adults decide to have a baby in this year or next years. Moreover, committee didn’t consider immigration to this city. Even the birthrate decreases and the number of enrolled students in schools reduces, maybe migrated families have more children than the resident families in this city. Therefore, planning committee has to allocate budget to education. To strengthen this argument committee would have provided some information about migrated families and resident families age range in every ten years.

Second, the assumption stating a reduction in the number of people using athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities is vague. There is no evidence that proves people don’t want to use these facilities in next 10 years. Maybe the number of families that have 4-6 years old children will increase and both children and their parents want to play athletic sports.

Third, committee wants to fund city facilities used by adult more than other facilities. Every adult has different age range. Some of them like to use athletic fields but others want to use library or the old ones need healthcare systems and so on. Committee has to consider the age group of adults because allocating money just for one age group is not useful.

To conclude, planning committee has to consider information of age group of resident and migrated families in next 10 years because everything will change with the time goes.