Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that learning a foreign language is better to start in elementary schools rather than secondary schools. There are some benefits and drawbacks for this view and I believe benefits are more significant than drawbacks.

Starting to learn a new language in primary school by children has some advantages. First, children who are 7 to 11 year old can absorb information more easily than older children. Therefore, they are ready to concentrate on new information such as second language. Second, children are interested in playing new games which are in exotic languages. If they learn newer languages, they can play more games. Third, children like participating in classes rather than their curriculum classes. For example, some children are enthusiastic in English classes as their foreign language to have fun and make friends.

Although studying second language in primary school has some benefits, there are some disadvantages for this trend. Firstly, students may become confused when they study new language and their mother tongue at the same time. For instance, when they are speaking English as second language they might make a mistake and use words in their own language. Secondly, children who take language course in school may lose their interest if they get a low mark in language exams. Therefore, they may stop learning this language. Lastly, besides drawbacks for children, there is a problem for schools. Some schools in deprived cities don’t have enough facilities and classes for extra curriculum courses such as language. So, children have to spend money to take in these classes somewhere out of the schools.

In conclusion, studying a new language in elementary school by children has some advantages and disadvantages which in my view, its advantages outweighs disadvantages.