The following appeared in a report of the Committee on Faculty Promotions and Salaries at Elm City University.

"During her seventeen years as a professor of botany, Professor Thomas has proved herself to be well worth her annual salary of $50,000. Her classes are among the largest at the university, demonstrating her popularity among students. Moreover, the money she has brought to the university in research grants has exceeded her salary in each of the last two years. Therefore, in consideration of Professor Thomas' demonstrated teaching and research abilities, we recommend that she receive a $10,000 raise and a promotion to Department Chairperson; without such a raise and promotion, we fear that Professor Thomas will leave Elm City University for another college."

In the report of the committee of faculty promotions and salary at Elm city university (ELM), it is stated that the salary of professor Thomas should be raised by $10,000 because she has demonstrated an outstanding research and lecturing abilities. The raise in salary is also to prevent her form departing from the university.To substantiate this assertion, it was said that her classes are amogst the largest in EML. Also, she has brought grants exceedin her salary to the university in the last two years. This argument is based on alot of unsubstantiated evidence and therefore it's logically flawed.

To begin with, the author assumed that since the professors class is among the largest in EML university, it must bee dur to the fact that it is very popular among the students. It is entirely possible that her class been among the largest is due to the fact that the university admits more students in the faculty of botany than other faculties of the universities. Perhaps, botany is one of the compulsory courses that is required to be taken by all students if the university. If any of this assumptions is true, then the author needs to provide more evidence

In addition, even if her classes are amogst the largest at the university, the author also assumed that she has brought a research grants exceeding her salary to the university without any evidence to substantiate this. Perhaps the grant awarded to the university was due to the collective effort of everyone in the university. It is entirely possible that she has nothing to do with the grant awarded to the university. It is entirely possible that the grant awarded during her tenure was the hard work of the tenure before her. Without evidence to substantiate this, I cannot agree with the author's conclusion.

Finally, even if the grants awarded to the university was due to the hard work of professor Thomas, it is unjustly fair for the author to assume that raising her salary by $10, 000 will keep her at the university. It is entirely possible that she would still leave the university even if her salary is raised. Without evidence form professor Thomas agreeing to stay if her salary will be raised, the assumption is therefore based on faulty reasoning. Perhaps, professor Thomas does not even have any intention of leaving the university because her motivation for staying at the university is because she enjoys what she does and blnot even because of her pay.

In sum, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. For me to properly evaluation this assertion, the author would have to provide evidence to support the fact that professor Thomas's hard work is responsible for the grant awarded to the university. An statitcal evidence showing the number of students admitted to the faculty of botany in relation to those admitted throughout the university. And also, an evidence that professor Thomas is willing to stay if her salary is raised by $10,000 .