The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes that the increased use of salicylates in food-processing is the reason behind the decline in the number of headaches over time. He further goes on to claim that there will be a steady decline, since new uses for salicylates have been discovered. However, the observations of the study cited to justify the views are tenuous at best, and more definitive evidence is required.

All the factors that can cause/ameliorate a headache need to be considered. To name a few- the lifestyle, mental health (stress, anxiety levels) and other dietary intake needs to be studied. For example, it is possible that the participants of the study have been leading a stress-free, healthy lifestyle over the past twenty years, which has made them resilient to headaches. It may also be possible that there is some other dietary source other than salicylates that is leading to reduced headaches. Thus, the scope of the study needs to be broadened, taking into consideration the factors mentioned above. If no other causal agents are found, then the claim put forward by the author becomes stronger, and the headaches are likely to keep reducing in the future

A more definitive conclusion can be made if the study is conducted on a diverse range of participants, a part of whom eat processed food, while the rest don’t. If these two types of people lead a similar lifestyle, and if the processed food consuming people report lower headaches than the non-consumers, then we need to study the salicylate levels in the bodies of the consumers. In case the bodies of processed-food consumers with lower cases of headache are found to have higher salicylate levels, only then we can conclude that the author’s claim is entirely correct.

The argument presented is rife with conclusions based on insufficient knowledge. However, if the study is conducted in a more detailed manner, the results can be more definitive.