The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mayor has made two major assumptions while making the above argument. If these assumptions turn out to be incorrect, the claim becomes tenuous at best. Thus, their validity needs to be warranted for, before taking any action.

It has been assumed that tourism and new businesses increased because of the construction of a golf course and resort hotel. Here, there is a high chance that correlation is being misinterpreted as causality. It is completely possible that Ocean View always had high potential for being a tourist place, in terms of scenic beauty. Thus, the provision of luxurious services like resorts only helped in realizing this potential. This method will not bear similar results for places which may not naturally be tourist attractions. Indeed, if Hopewell is a bland place with nothing to draw tourists, there will be no significant boost to the local tourism industry. Similarly, it is highly likely that the Ocean View government started giving subsidies (in terms of cheap labour, land, resources or mining permits) to new businesses, which is the factor that motivated them to set up operations in that town. Thus, the inauguration of resorts/golf courses could be useless in boosting the economy at Hopewell unless the same subsidies are being given. The best way to go about would be to check for all the factors that led the tourism/business to prosper. Contacting the tourists and businessmen through surveys would be a feasible way to achieve this.

Hopewell’s current state has been totally unwarranted for. It might be the case that this town’s tourism industry is already flourishing at its apogee, and a large number of businesses are already operating in the town, with no extra resources available to support new ones. There may also be many golf courses and resorts already functioning. If any of these possibilities were to be true, the setting up of any more similar facilities would not be much of a boost to the economy. Hence, before coming to any definite conclusions, the current economical state of Hopewell needs to be analysed, with proper monitoring of its resources and potential. Only the untapped ones can yield any results.

Thus, the argument needs a lot of assumptions to be true, for it to hold any weight. A careful study of the validity of these arguments needs to be made through a combination of surveys and analysis. Otherwise, the proposed action may prove to be deleterious for the economy.