Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The right to information is a topic that has been subject to numerous intense debates over time. However, this debate has no universal solution that can apply across all scenarios- although the public has the right to know the truth, however, a few topics need to be withheld from the knowledge of the general public, for their own well-being.

The most popular argument given to support the idea of full public disclosure is that it helps in the decision making process of the people, especially in the case of a democracy, where people choose their leaders based on information. In this case, the public should indeed be given all the information that pertains to the election process and be made aware of all the details about the potential candidates contesting the elections. Here, the non-disclosure of information by the political candidates is against the spirit of democracy, and is principally wrong. However, the leaders should not be compelled to share information about the nation’s security and other confidential knowledge that may cause any damage to the security of the nation or its denizens. For example, any criminal/legal charges against any politician should be declared to the public. However, military or other sensitive research related content that can be a potential threat to the nation in the hands of an enemy should definitely be withheld, and preserved with great care.

Another concern against the notion of disclosing everything to the people, is that in case of sensitive issues, there is a high risk of mass hysteria and panic, which only tend to make any situation worse. A better solution in this case would be to mitigate the problem before making it known to the public. For example, in case of an impending attack from an enemy, the country’s leaders should try to ameliorate the situation through negotiations or counter-attacks, before announcing anything in front of the public. However, in case the situation can be made better by involving the public, all the information should be broadcasted to ensure that everyone is well aware. A good example would be the case of the corona virus Covid-19. In this case, any censorship of information by the government would have accelerated the spread of the virus.

Hence, in most cases, it is vital for the public to be made aware of all the happenings that can/may affect them, except for sensitive/vital information that may be required for the security of the country. In this way, the spirit of democracy can be preserved, while ensuring the safety of the people.