The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the company has made a few claims that, if true, can be very beneficial for the company. However, these claims are based on almost negligible prior study of the market or raw material prices, and have no evidence to back them up.

The vice president has assumed that the demand for alpaca overcoats in the market is the same as five years ago, without referring to any customer review/survey whatsoever. With the rising awareness against animal-fur products, it is quite possible that very few people may want to but a garment made of alpaca fur. It is also very likely that the need for woollen garments may have reduced drastically due to the rising global temperatures as a result of global warming. Even the reason why the major competitor stopped making the overcoat has not be considered, and it is very likely that a fall in customer demand for these products was the reason why latter stopped making them in the first place. Thus, a comprehensive market survey, or at least an investigation of the reason behind the ceasing of production is required. Otherwise, the whole decision could prove to be very costly for the company. The vice president should go ahead with this decision only if the survey results support his assumption that the demand for alpaca overcoats is still the same, if not higher.

The second assumption that appears to be specious, is that the selling at a higher price than before may lead to higher profits. The VP has not considered the price of material sold by the new vendor as compared to the old one. If the increase in selling price is not as much as the increase in cost price of the raw material, the company is likely to go into losses with the production of that product. To make an informed decision, a comparison of the old and new prices of raw materials is needed.