The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The letter from the parent of Kensington Academy student to the principal of that school states that since the school turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition which is serving low calorie and low fat meal to the students, the students are less enjoying the food and ultimately this will lead to serious health consequences for Kensington students. Though, the parent writing the essay reason out the a few things will may cause problems, before deciding that the predication and argument on which it is based are reasonable, three important questions needs to be answered.

Firstly, does replacing Swift nutrition with other vendor which will be serve high fat and high calorie diet will be beneficial to the health of the students? Young students are prone to enjoying food like chocolates, pizzas, burgers, and other fried and high calorie food. Serving such food will no doubly be enjoyed by young student and they will consume it with utter happiness but this will be harmful for them and may lead to obesity. Swift nutrition vendors serving healthy food may not be very tasty and enjoyable but at last if students will get habituated to such healthy alternative, it may will overall help and motivate them towards heathy lifestyle.

Secondly, it is also mentioned in the argument that the parent suspect that this may promote to bring students their own lunch which are less healthy. Do the parents consider the food a student gets from home unhealthy, and if not how a home made lunch can contribute to less healthy option ? Normally, the lunch prepared at home are full of nutrition and safe, consuming home made food can ultimately lead to a more healthy lifestyle. It is unclear here why a parent will consider bringing food from the home unhealthy.

Lastly, this argument is based upon the response which a parent hear from his or her son and group of his friends. Does all the students at Kensington Academy feels the same way? It could be matter of fact that his son and his friends are used to consuming unhealthy food and thus this healthy alternative suggested by Swift is not acceptable to them. Before reaching to the conclusion that the food is unhealthy and it should be replaced by another vendor, there could be general polling along with parents of the students and if majority of the population feels the food served can cause health consequences, then thinking of the alternative for Swift can be reasonable.

In a nutshell, before concluding to change the Swift vendor, above mentioned interrogation must be cleared. From the information mentioned in the letter, the motive and final decision is obscure. Had the parent mentioned more reasons for the same and have answered the series of queries which arises from the arguments, the firmness on the conclusion may have been stronger.