Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Pleasantville School Board have noticed a decline in the indulgence of number of teenage volunteers for several charitable organizations. According to the argument, the school Board assumes that it is vital for every high student student to participate in volunteering these community services to help them to understand the significance of local charities and giving back to their community. So, in order to make sure high school student participates in these events, the school has come up with the solution, that it will be compulsory for every student to complete 40 hours of community service prior to their graduation. Though, in my opinion, there are three vital unstated assumptions, which the school Board are assuming before passing this rule.

Firstly, the school Board of Pleasantville is assuming that volunteering the charitable organization is the only way to make young student understand the important of giving back to the society. "Does other services like taking care of homeless people, or taking care of people who are physically impaired does not count under understanding the value of empathy"?. Making volunteering service mandatory may or may not inculcate the feeling or moral values in young students. These values are something which comes from within, making it mandatory will just leave them with no option, but to do it without any learning or feeling.

Furthermore, 4o hours of community service is necessary for any high school before their graduations. This rule itself sounds vague, as there is nowhere mentioned in the argument, that on the basis of what parameters or studies does the school board have come up with this 40 hours timeframe. "Do the student who serve less than 40 hours, does not have moral values of serving to the society or one who is doing more than 40 hours are doing a lot(more than required)?". Charitable services are not something which can limited to certain time period. Serving and volunteering for 40 hours will do no good, if its done with the mindset that, it is for getting graduation degree. A person serving for even 2 hours can be more beneficial to the society if they serve with pure heart than those doing volunteering for 40 hours or more half-heartedly. These value are pure and associating it with timeframe may make it loose its values.

Lastly, the school Board made an assumption that, this decline in the number of volunteers are due to lack of interest of the high school student and there was no new changes or rather flaws in their education system which caused these changes. If students were participating in volunteering events earlier, then certainly there could be some changes in the curriculum of the school, which made student busy in other events. There is no evidence provided in the passage that proper survey took place to monitor this change. Above all, mandatory 40 hours of service is added without giving any proper structure.

In my opinion, these above assumptions which are unstated need to be clarified before passing any rule. Had the author given more evidences to deny these negative implications which might arise from these unstated assumptions, the general opinion towards it would have be different. Without proper explanations of these unstated assumptions, the rule passed by the school Board stands vague.