First step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Self-knowledge is the best knowledge as it is a building block of success. A mentor or guide may help a person develop certain awarness or knowledge, but the knowledge and skill acquired through own research, interest and diligence lasts long. Often, we hear a lot of news or facts or rather cliche, and those facts just capture our mind and we assume that piece of information to be true undoubtedly. Such trite may prove out to be negative in long run, so I mostly agree with the recommendation that first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Many people belives in the familiarity too and try to built up of knowledge on the base of known facts. This had proven to be advantageous as well in the past. For instance, if we take early human-beings, they came to earth, unaware of any resources or way to survive. With passing time, a lot of resources were discovered and generation after generation, people tried to improvise it. Such familiarity with the information of resource and facts such as water, fire or vegetation are some facts which helped the coming generation to acquire more and more knowledge and sustain their life on earth in a better way. But, there could be lot of information that have been passed years after years and they may be based on false beliefs or improper investigations, accepting such information without any proper research can be deleterious too.

Very often we hear some trite from our grandparents or parents and believe in them without any of our own research and then we think of self-knowledge, our mind becomes reluctant to accept any of such informations because such fact are ingraved in our brain, so without we study or research, such false or wrong familiarity hinders our process of self-knowledge. Suppose, if someone right from your childhood taught you certain mathematical formula, take for instance pythagoras theorm, your mind and soul just accepted that formula without your own knowledge or investigation and going forward if you are doing any research in the field related, say traingles, your mind will always want to apply our known knowledge about pythagoras theorm in every possible place and as you acquire the understanding that it cannot be applied at all the places, it will be difficult for you to accept it. That is why its often said that whenever you are doing any research work, or starting the investigation, clear off your mind and start from level one with impartial mind.

While some acquired and passed on information are true and may help us to built us our foundation better, it may hinder our development with the new findings and discoveries in place. So, in conclusion it familiarity about certain resources or tools might help a person to get a zest of any topic but may impede their growth, so I mostly agree to the recommendation of clearing off and rejecting the familiar before starting any process of self-knowledge, to gain knowledge better with an impartial and fresh mind.