The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation is one of the most important essense of leadership in any field, be it governmental sectors, industries or any other fields. Leader is someone who should listen to the ideas and thought process of his or her team members and take decisions accordingly in a prudent way. Cooperating with others and giving importance to the team members is vital for success of any organization, therefore I mostly agree with the claim that, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in any sectors or fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

On the other hand, many may disagree with this claim, stating that today's era is led by competition. Life is a race and one should compete with another in order to succeed and rule them. Though, their views may be correct to some extent about the how sense of competition can help a young person to succeed but leadership is not just about self- success, leadership is all about the team success on the whole. Leader is someone how leads the team, people follow them and the system works on their final decisions. If the leader is not cooperative, then the organization can be said be led by dictorship rather than team. Such sector will not be successful in long run and then no amount of competition can bring the position of leadership back .

Cooperation within the team gives a sense of integrity, responsibility and significance to each member of the team. For instance, if we think about a school project in which a team of certain number of students have to design a model, there will be a team lead offcourse, but suppose if that team lead will not listen to the ideas of anyone, will make decisions all my himself and will just try to compete with one another within the team, then the project will not be a successful one, as all the members of the team will loathe him and ultimately, it will harm the purpose of the team and the leader will be failed.

Cooperation within the team also gives a sense of respect to each member. For instance, if any government party leader will not listen to the ideas and thoughts of his member and will just try to have a competition, it will lead to the decline in their seats in the parliament, other government official will hate him because they will feel disrespected. It is important for a leader to respect each and every member of the team. They maybe wrong, but it is their duty to handle the situation with decorum by cooperating with them and finally making the best decision possible without disrespecting anyone's thought.

In conclusion, competition may be important for a person success but cooperation is actually the true and most important aspect of leadership. Leadership within a group without a sense of cooperation does not hold water as this unhealthy competition is dangerous and the young should be aware about this to be a successful leader.