The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the south-western United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Companies tend make operational changes in their products or services occasionally to increase the profits and gains. The changes that are beneficial not only to the company’s gains but also to the consumer is proved to successful in the market. The one that are made only with consideration of company’s gains often fail to meet consumer demands and ultimately lead to the downfall of the organisation.

In the memo, the restaurant made a smart choice by replacing butter with margarine with has higher health benefits compared the butter which can lead to increased cholesterol levels in the body. These promotional change proved to be successful in their food houses as the most of the customers couldn’t tell apart the difference between butter and margarine.

The trail of these change has run only in the southwestern branches of the restaurant to see if the change would lead a dissatisfaction in the customer. It’s one of the sharp move by the pancake house to see how their changes will be able to get a word in their regular customers. Sometimes the restaurant make new promotional offers and changes throughout their whole flagships without a trail run which can be quite to their businesses.

Though the result might not be too predictable since the swap that has been made in the food is not only advantageous to the consumer’s health but also is more profitable to the restaurant. This kind of additions is essential for the successful business in the restaurant community.

The taste and quality of the food are the two major aspects that affect the excellence of a restaurant. A food business that can be able to not only prioritise their self pockets but also the customer’s satisfaction will truly succeed to thrive in the competitive field.

Though aspects that are impossible to prevent like disapproval from few customers that unimpressed with the transparency of the restaurant, it should be able to satiate their needs through additional perks and promotions to keep the business engaged.

If the changes in a business that is able to make the amends and meet the required milestones that are both favourable to both customers and their profits, it is safe to make those changes.