A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Every country in the world has some sort of educational curriculum set up for its students until they reach a certain point in their educational attainment which is mostly till college. This educational curriculum is uniform for all students, hence it is known as a national system, where the government determines what subjects the students will have to study, and what kind of topics the teachers will teach in the educational institutions. There might be very few country that don't have this kind of national curriculum system in place. In an essence, countries make it mandatory to follow this homogenous system. However, I mostly disagree with this recommendation that the a student must be compelled to study in accordance with the same national curriculum as the rest of the students of a nation. My reasoning for this opposite position is elaborated by providing two reasons.

First of all, majority of the nation's students are accustomed to the fact that they have to study and compete with other students based on similar subject knowledge. This, unfortunately precipitates some students to lose interest in the overall attainment of education. There are many who have a distinct curiosity and interest in specific subject matter, yet when they have to study to fulfill the requirement set by the government, they have to set their curiosity aside and study something they don't feel passionate about. For instance, people like Albert Einstein were not good at their school education because there were subjects such as English Literature, Sociology, Biology, etc. that didn't fascinate the later Nobel Laureate. This inevitably led to the disruption in attainment of formal school education. However, he later on followed his curiosity and became the best physicist in the world of Physics. This indicates that if he had the opportunity to study only physics and other subjects that were liked by him, he would be able to complete his education in a sound manner.

Secondly, as the students have to study the same topics, they are getting ready for the same opportunities given by the nation. This doesn't seem appealing as every student is different and everyone has heterogenous goals and dreams. For instance, if Picasso were born in this era, he wouldn't be able to become this great painter if he had to attain education based on the uniform curriculum that is present in most nations. He had to simply work hard to try to get admission in a good college that teaches mainstream subjects. There is also an assertion that school education shapes a person's social status. Parents want to feel high and mighty based on their children's school result as all of them compete in similar manner. It creates an external pressure on the student leading to poor mental health. For instance, a lot of Bangladesh students commit suicide after the publication of their S.S.C and H.S.C result because they couldn't perform well whereas their counterparts did.

However, the assertion that students should be required to study the same curriculum can be a beneficial suggestion for several reasons. As in, there will be an uniform competition between all of them when they begin their journey to find a good college education, and a similar study background will determine the readiness of applying with uniform sphere of knowledge about certain subjects. Despite that, considering the abovementioned two reasons for refuting the recommendation provided by the author, this argument becomes significantly weakened. In conclusion, a nation needs to take into various perspectives into consideration before making such kind of homogenous curriculum mandatory for all the students, which in the long-term will prove beneficial and advantageous for the development and success of the country itself.