The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, it is stated that a certain television station has been broadcasting more national news and less weather and local news in their late-night news program since last year. This has created a problem for them in terms of their viewers satisfaction and advertising revenues. In order to solve this problem, the business manager is recommending to resume broadcasting weather and local news in the same amount just as they used to do before the past year. He recommends this based on the fact that viewers were making complaints regarding the weather and local news coverage. In addition to this, the station is losing advertisers who used to have contract with them to broadcast their ads during the late-night news program. However, there are three questionable evidences that are required to evaluate, if proved true, can weaken the argument of the business manager.

First of all, do we know what the level of viewer's satisfaction was before this new strategy to cover more national news than weather news was implemented? It is possible that the TV station received similar complaints even before this strategy was put into action. Probably, the TV station didn't accurately cover weather news and publish unreliable information about the weather forecast. For instance, they might be saying that there would be sunny days consequetively for a week. But in reality it seemed that there were rain and hailstorm during that entire week.

Secondly, do we know the local news that they broadcasted were not fabricated to appease the local government to ensure more voters in the election supporting the ruling party? For instance, they might say that the crime scenario of the local area is good and there are very few crimes happening which might not be true because the viewers themselves cannot sleep properly at night due to burglary issues.

Finally, is the reason for canceling the advertising contract by the local businesses explained by the author? It is possible that the TV station didn't comply with the contract completely which disappointed the local businesses. For instance, the TV station might be broadcasting the ads very few times than they agreed initially in the contract. Further, maybe the TV station is charging more money than the local businesses can afford which is leading them to switch to another broadcasting station that is promising a better deal.

In conclusion, it can be comprehended, at its worth, that there are several unwarranted assumptions made by the business manager of this television station, that if not proved otherwise by the author, may not hold water. The author may need to answer the questions raised based on those assumptions, perhaps by using some sort of systematic research strategy, to strengthen his argument that restoring the previous method of broadcasting weather and local news in the late-night program will eventually benefit the television station.