The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that the late-night program should restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Several reasons offered to support this conclusion are: They received complaints from views with concern with the coverage of weather and local news, and that the local businesses cancel the advertising contracts with them during the late-night news program. However, the argument is flawed because it fails to provide clear details and evidence.

First of all, as mentioned in the argument, the author states that most of the complaints received are pertaining to the coverage of weather and local news. However, the author does not tell us which part of the news is being complained about. The final conclusion is to restore the time devoted to this category, but there is no evidence or statistics showing us the problem is on the length of the coverage, it could be the quality instead. Consider an extreme case, the company records the part of the weather and local news as usual and trims it just to shorten the length of it instead of reworking on the procedure and condensing the content to maintain the quality. In this case, it shouldn't be surprised that viewers are complaining about it, and the deliverance should be rehashing the recording plan instead of restoring the time length.

Secondly, the author only informs us about the local businesses canceled their current advertising contract during the late-night news program with the company. How could this be imputed to the retrenchment of local and weather news without any details? The local businesses may want to change the details of the contract, or another company provides them a better contract. Consider a case that the local businesses recant the contract because due to the retrenchment of the weather news, there is more interesting news that attracts viewers' attention, they want to prepare a new contract to increase the length or frequency of their advertisement. In this case, if the company restores the time devoted to weather and local news, they might lose the chance to generate additional profit.

Last but not least, we can't conclude the advertising revenues are shrinking merely based on this argument. As mentioned previously, the local businesses may consider extending or aggrandize the content or extent of the current contract, so they rescind the current one and are preparing for new ones. In this case, if the company changed back to their old policy, they won't avoid the loss in revenues, they will create some instead.

While on the surface this argument may have logical sense, it lacks of great deal of information that is integral to identifying if this is a valid conclusion. To strengthen it the author must provide clear details of the contract and the complaints they received or any other information that can provide that they are suffering because of the retrenchment of the weather and local news during the late-night program.