Argumentative task

The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The assumption from the manager of the television station, that their television station over the past year have a reduction in viewers and those that use to advertise their businesses because they are not devoted to weather and local news as before could be true, however the conclusion of this claim is based on inadequate facts.

We are just told that most of the viewers complaint were as regards not broadcasting weather and local news. The word "most" weakens this assumption as we are not sure of the precise data. Was the survey carried out on large masses? because the manager could have concluded these based on his conversation with the only people he came accross. Large masses needs to be used for the survey so as to get everyone's opinion and to be sure that changing to weather and local news will attract better number of viewers.

The late night broadcast can not only be used to judge or weigh the number of viewers. Most people devote in watching television stations during the day as well. The manager needs to check the day broadcast and not only focus on what is done in the night. A lot of offices use their television during the day, and they may not be pleased with what the television station broadcast during the day. So this needs to be balanced. Therefore changing the night broadcast alone may not be suffiecient to attract more viewer.

A survey needs to be carried out on businesses that advertise before and eventually stopped. The essence of the survey is to know the actual reason for their backing out. Some could have stopped because they have better way of advertising their products or services, for some it could be as a result of their businesses having personal issues. In summary, them not using the television station could be as a result totally different to the claim.

To adequately substantiate this claim, i.e, changing the night broadcast will help to attract more viewers. We need affirmation for the points above, in which the outcome may eventually weaken the assumption.