Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Definition of originality is subjective. It will differ from person to person or from one field to another. Yet at its core originality is essentially something which is new, creative, innovative and meaningful. Any original work may contain few existing premises or ideas. But to label work as an original, it must have put forward a new perspective, interweaving existing knowledge in a unique fashion.

An important key element in the definition is the word - new. Something which is original has to be new or something which one hasn’t encountered earlier. But any new foundation need not be always formed of brand new or never seen before facts but can be re-arrangement of existing foundations with new perspective or view. Quantum theory in physics is a classic example of it.

It uses already existing scientific facts, combining them in a new way to put forward a new perspective. These can be easily generalized for other scientific theories as well. Hydroponics - soilless agriculture can be labelled as an original idea comprising existing factual knowledge.

It uses the fact that soil is a medium of nutrients of plants rather than an essential element of the plant life cycle and attempts to grow plants by adding required nutrients in water instead of soil.

Any new foundation or hypothesis is not straightway founded but rather successively built on existing knowledge and an individual's own creativity. This essentially facilitates that creation or foundation of new things is an iterative process. Any software developer possessing basic knowledge of programming languages and few medical conditions developed an application to monitor a person's health conditions remotely. Here, developer used their basic knowledge of programming and medical conditions and combined them in a unique way to deliver new venture bringing together technology and the health sector. Here, leveraging existing knowledge along with own creativity gave rise to original idea.

Using existing techniques and extending them for enhancement can be observed in artistic fields. Many great artists borrowed some unique elements of painters of prior generations and added their own elements to the paintings and delivered some exciting amalgamation of painting style which was appreciated by critics and audience.

As illustrated by examples in preceding paragraphs, original work need not be composed of never seen before facts but it can be re-iteration of existing knowledge interwoven in unique perspective or style.