The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

In this argument, the business manager of a television station claims that in order to attract more viewers to their late night news program, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This argument is flawed due to a numerous reasons which are discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the data shared is not very clear. It is mentioned that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the station's decreased coverage of weather and local news. What does the business manager means by concerns? Unless it is explicitly mentioned that the concerns of the viewers was with the time duration given to the weather and local news coverage, we cannnot assume so. It could a possibility that the viewers actually had a problem with the type of content shown in the weather and local news coverage. Also, who are these viewers raising concerns and were are they from? To arrive at any conclusion, it should be noted that the viewers pool consists of people from all the relevant age groups and areas. It is not correct to generalise the root cause if the feedbacks are received from a very limited and non-diverse group of people.

Moving on, lets assume for time being that the viewers whose feedbacks are being considered actually meet the above mentioned criterion and their concern was really about the decreased length of weather and local news coverage. But how does this justify the fact that local businesses who initially used to advertise during their late-night shows are now cancelling their advertising contract with them? There could be a ton of other reasons behind them cancelling the advertising contract. Maybe they were not happy with the pay scale or they found a better deal with some other channel. It could also be possible that they were not satisfied with the time given to their adverstisments during the late night news program. So, unless the business manager analyses and states the actual reasons behind the local businesses revoking the advertising contract with them, they cannot jump to a conclusion and state that it happened because of the decreased weather and local news coverage.

Finally, since the problem at hand for the given television station is decreased viewership and loss of advertising revenues, they should study and check the actual reasons for this downfall. They should compare what used to work for them before and what changed now, thus causing these impacts. The arguments given currently are too vague to conclude that it was all because of the decreased time coverage of weather and local news. It is only through proper legtimate research that the actual root caused could be indentified and then they should be worked upon to bring the station back to its former glory.