The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue mentioned here states that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones, and I do not agree with it.

First of all, for an overall growth and development of an individual it is very important that both their positive and negative actions are taken into account. As we have all known life to be grey instead of being white or black, we should keep this theory in mind and be aware that no good was ever achieved by ignoring things, especially when we are in a position to teach/impact others' lives. Praising someone for their good actions is a very good step when it comes to teaching. It makes people feel acknowledged and also encourages them to keep up the good work. It gives them a sense of satisfaction that they are going in the right direction and should continue doing the same, thus helping them to grow and develop even further. However. if we ignore their negative actions, it would be like eluding from the truth and turning a blind eye to things that might cause actual hindrance in proper development of an individual. Instead, the negative actions should be pointed out, brainstormed on, and found a solution to, not in a harshly critical way, but in a way that makes a person feel that yes, there is no perfect individual in this world and just like others they might have done some negative things. But there is nothing that can't be fixed. This sense of awareness and clarity is what leads to actual improvement in the long run. Running from or ignoring thing would only cause them to pile up, and ultimately they would even start to hamper the growth achieved from the positive actions. And as someone who is in a position to influence someone's life, we would never want that. If we ignore the negative actions of an individual, it does not ideally stays till them. That individual with completely wrong values and ideas of teaching though only praising the positive actions and overlooking the negative ones, will move on in life to treat others in the same fashion. Thus, this would create a chain of wrong process and would ultimately rot the society.

Moreover, a recent study from Harvard shows that people find it more easy to trust and follow someone if they are very honest with them about everything, be it good and more importantly be it bad. If we are to learn something from someone, we should be able to properly trust them and have a sense of belief in them. Suppose someone only praises us for our positive actions and never talks about the negative ones, we would never receive an honest feedback for our actions, which is not preferred by many. We would be living in a shell completely ignorant of the actual truth. And when we will come to know that we actually did many negative actions but our teacher/guide never discussed about it, it would become very difficult for us to trust them on anything. It would become a mere formality for both the parties involved, which was definitely not the intention when things would have started.

Of course, some people might still feel that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. This might actually be true too, but only in the short run. For the reasons mentioned above, in the long run, it is only through acknowledging the negative actions and working on them to improve ourselves, that actual growth and development is achieved.

Thus, to conclude, I completely agree with the fact that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions while highlighting and providing constructive criticism on negative ones so that it is not only beneficial for the person in question, but also does not leads to a trust breach between the two parties involved.