The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist. “Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on the unwarranted assumption that the conditions in which the interviews are conducted is completely legit, thus rendering its main conclusion, that the interview centric method is much more accurate in understanding the cultures of any community, invalid.

To begin with, these interviews can never be totally relied upon when it comes to concluding something, especially the way of life or child-rearing culture of a community. These interviews could have been carried out under the influence of an individual who wants to paint the picture of their community in a certain fashion. Had the argument given some proofs to highlight the authenticity of the interview, for example, an eye witness to vouch for it, we could have trusted it better. Also, to know more about a society or a culture, observation is a better method that interviews any day. This is because, in the interviews people start to pretend. They know that they are being recorded hence they do not convey the real idea. However, when someone is being observed, they do not usually know that someone is taking notes of their action. Hence they tend to act in more natural and real manner, thus giving more legit conclusions. This is exactly what Dr. Field did and hence has an upper hand here.

Along the same lines, Dr. Field and Dr. Karp both belong to the same domain, hence are kind of competitors. The whole argument is Dr. Karp's words against Dr. Field. Dr. Karp would certainly want to bring out ways to discredit any prior studies in his field through works of his own, so that he received that fame and respect. So unless the argument gives us concrete proofs to believe that Dr. Karp had no such immoral intentions and that he is a legit hard working individual who would not wrong anyone just for these petty sakes, the argument would become more believable.

Moving on, if we were to believe that both Dr. Karp's intention and the interview are legit, still, just because the children were heard of talking more about their biological parents than other adults in the village does not conclusively dismiss the fact that they were reared by the entire village. It could be a possibility that since the children live with their parents, they tend to talk about them more. Also, during their prime rearing ages, children are too young to know or acknowledge their actual caretakers. Had the argument included interviews of their parents or any other adults in the village, we could have got better points to draw a conclusion to this argument.

Finally, even if we believe that this whole interview centric approach worked in Tertia and we were able to draw legit conclusion on child-rearing traditions there, it cannot be said for sure that it will work for other islands as well. We cannot compare apples and oranges. Every island is different, has different conditions and culture. This generalized assumption is not correct.

Because the argument is based on warranted assumptions and no legit proofs or authenticity, it fails to make a convincing case that the interview centric method will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in Tertia or any other island.