'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Given argument presents an idea of restoring the time devoted to local news and weather reports in a telivision station to its fromer level. While presenting this idea the author has stated certain points to support the argument such as, increase in the devoted time to national news, complaints regarding local and weather news and finally the cancellations of local bussiness that used to adverstise during the late night. After stating all these points the author has concluded that time devovted to local and weather news is to be restored to former level inorder to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.

However, these statements are not supported by any strong evidence to withstand any opposition against them. Firstly, it is mentioned that the time devoted to naitonal news has been increased over the past year. But there was no evidence stating that this was just coincidental and has no reason to deal with the revenue of station. This change might be more vital than it appears, the station might have acquired more viewers outside the local region, or there could have been a very important, national level scenarios running around such as an election or a war which should have caused the importance in telecasting national news more important as it increases the viewership of station. Which rises the revenue further, oppsoing the conclusion.

As mentioned in the argument, there had been complaints received from the viewers about the coverage of weather and local news. But there was no evidence that these complaints were about the time devoted to local and weather news. These complaints could have been lodged on the quality of local and weather news that most of them turned out to be false. This is no where mentioned in the argument.

Further, it is stated that local bussiness that used to advertise during late-night news have cancelled their contracts. But, it is not clear about the reason why they cancelled the contracts. There could have been numerous reasons to cancel the contract. Their companies could have been bankrupted and not in a position to put their revenue on adversting. There is no evidence stating that reduction in number of local viewers was the reason. Infact, there was no evidence that the numebr of local viewers to the station has been reduced.

Finally, the points stated by the author are not supported by any established to evidence to stand a chance agianst opposing the proposal. The station might have acquired more national-wide viewers now, and been hoping to expand further to acquire more national wide clients and bussinesses rather than limiting themselves to a local rergion.