Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The Humanity had experienced numerous changes throughout its evolution. Every change had finally lead us to reach our current position. All these changes were driven by or even ignited by scientists representing the zeitgeist of their period. A scientist is a human who destined to dedicate all his resources to science and knowledge. But every scientist is a human in the firsts place, every human is responsible for taking humanity to a better and happier world every day. So all the scientists should indulge their resources to make this world a better place to live in.

Given view represents the idea that scientists and researchers should focus their researches on areas that likely benefit greatest number of people. This statement clearly mentions the author's inclination towards using science for a greater good. Science is fullest expression of knowledge explored by humanity. The whole essence of science is to study the world and nature around us, to use this knowledge in expanding the living experience of humans.

Further, scientists are the people who might be opposed at first, for their works being out of time, yet they are the ones who bring enlightenment to humanity. These greatest minds should spend their efforts and time on the areas that benefit greatest number of people possible. If these resources are wasted on something that is merely useful to current society, it might stand as a greatest work for future, but it can't make an unhappy face smile, or a hungry belly filled. A cloud raining in a dessert might have fulfilled its purpose of raining, but in vain. All the rain goes waste in the sands of an empty, isolated desert which supports no life. If that cloud had rained on a farmer's farm who is desperately waiting for rain, one could have seen one of the happiest face on this planet.

Moreover, scientists and researchers may have ideas which change the world at a snap but lack of resources stop them from bringing those ideas to life. These are the most common scenarios found in scientific community, yet most of the researchers try to put their efforts on developing the theoretical work of their ideas in a hope that they can be used in some future when the resources and technology compatible to handle those ideas would be available. But imagine a person dying of hunger and a scientist has a best idea on how to make a perfectly comfortable bed and pillow which never irritates or disturbs the sleep. If this scientist goes on to build the bed anticipating that the person needs to sleep further and gives him/her the bed, hungry person can never be satisfied with the comfort it provides. The immediate solution the person wants is some food which satisfies his present need but not some excellent invention which might solve the future problem that he/she might face.

Finally, every scientist is a human at the first place and should strive for betterment of humanity in the with greatest possible population being hepled.