"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Given argument recommends that a greater budget share is to be allocated for advertsing the movies of Super Screen that are great in content. In recommending this view author has stated certain points such as, the reduction in number of people attending the Super Screen produced movies, increase in the percentage of positive reviews, public's lack of awareness on the contents of the movies. Yet these points are not clearly sufficient to support this recommendation.

Firstly, the author states that the number of people atteding the Super Screen movies has been reduced during the past year. But there is an unaswered question, that, has there been a significant reduction only on the Super Screen viewership or the number of people watching movies on a whole is reduced? The answer to this question plays a vital role in deciding the future plan of the Super Screen production. If the people watching movies as a whole is reduced then advertising the Super Screen movies alone may not boost the scenario. This should take a different step in that case.

Additionally, the percentage of positive reviews is stated to be increased. This rises different questions on what actions are to be taken further. Did the rise in percentage imply the rise in the number of positive reviews or is it just a case where the total number of review writers is reduced and as a result the percentage of positive reviews is increased? If it were the second case then the scenario grows worse as the company keeps trusting that the movies are having good content even when they don't. Morever, the most important question is that how far can these reviews be trusted? If these reviews were not genuine and biased in order to boost the advertising budget, then it leads to great loss for the production company.

Further, it is given that the content of the reviews is not reaching the viewers and this led to the reduction in number of viewers. In this case, a question is needed to be answered, that is, what percent of the viewers depend on thhe reviews to watch a movie? and how many of the people trust the exact reviews which are positive towards the movie? This answer laays the path for the final decision whether to invest on the advertisement or not. If the percentage of viewers depending on the reviews is low then it is clearly a waste of investment on advertisement, further, various people have various prejudices towards a particular review and this might affect the situation worsly than it was before.

Finally, author has made significant statements, yet failed answer the criticaal questions that rose in the argument. Thus the Super Screen Production Company shouldn't risk their investment on advertising, without getting clear answers for the above mentioned questions.