To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Development has been a never ending quest for humanity since the dawn of social awareness. Mankind always tried to take the best elements of any location and multiply them to make that a better place to live in. Humans learnt to collaborate all their efforts at one place to transform the chosen geography into a beautiful city. These efforts were carried on for generations together which also involved the values inherited from villages to preserve to characteristics of the society that built it.

Given statement speaks that study of major cities is the most essential thing in attaining a solid understanding over the characteristics of the society. But this view is absolutely negative as a society involves various elements other than cities.

Further, a city can be considered as a "consolidated form of development", but this development never occurred without the support from the surrounding villages and towns. A fruit might be the selling point of a tree, but it doesn't imply that a fruit is the whole tree. Similarly, major cities might be the most developed elements of a society but they can never represent the whole society. A city can never emerge out of no where, it is built after a numerous efforts and sacrifices put forward by neighboring livelihoods.

Additionally, a society is not a mere group of people or localities, it is a collection of numerous emotions, values and customs dated generations back. A society has various livelihoods ranging from a countryside to a metropolitan, all these together define the characteristics of a society.No single element represents whole society on its own. A good dish consists of various ingredients such as variety of spices, different kinds of vegetables. But one can never judge a dish stating that a single vegetable or spice is so good or bad. In a similar fashion, no one can understand a whole society by studying major cities alone.

Moreover, one might find it helpful that studying villages gives a better understanding on a society's characteristics rather than cities. As, villages are the ones which preserve the customs, characteristics of any given society, as cities accommodate a huge number of visitors and people who settled in the city but do not represent the key characteristics of that particular society.

Finally, studying the major cities of society might set a benchmark to understand the characteristics of the society, but it cannot reflect the whole society. Heart might be the most important organ in a human body even that requires assistance of other organs in the body. Analogically, cities might be the most developed elements of a society but that doesn't imply that they operate independently and act as the whole representation of te society.