The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year,our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us.Therefore,in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response with which you discuss the specific evidence needed to evaluate the argument and how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it might be true that the cause of loss in revenue could be because of the decrease in time devoted for weather and local news, the manager's argument does not make a cogent case for the same. There is no clear explanation on what type of complaints have been received and also the manager does not take into account that there could be other causes for the cancellation of advertising. Hence the argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated information and is therefore questionable.

Firstly, the information regarding the complaints is not sufficient and clear , for example the complaints could have been concerned with the inaccuracy of the weather report or the lack of authenticity provided in the local news. Hence it cannot be assumed that the complaints were regarding the allotment of shorter duration for the telecast of weather and local news.

Also, there is no information mentioned regarding the number of complaints that were received before the increase in time allotted for national news.

It could be possible that there was no change in the number of complaints received before and after the change in duration given for each type of news.

Lastly, the manager blindly decides that the only cause for the decrease in number of advertising contracts is because of of the decrease in time devoted for local news and weather. There could have been other reason for this cancellation such as , the advertising contracts have found other channels which cost them cheaper and hence have opted other channels and cancelled their contract with this particular television station.

In conclusion , although it might be true that restoring back the original duration for local news would bring back the revenue, the manager has made a lot of assumptions and hence by providing proper evidence regarding the complaints and cause for decrease in advertising,the argument would stand on a firm ground.