People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Making decisions is an essential part of life, from the very beginning of the human race we are making decisions to survive. Sometimes there is enough rational thingking on work to justify the decision taken or sometimes decisions are driven by the gut feeling. Although emotion driven decision which afterward supported or justified with logic may not seem the perfect choice, some situations are so complex that waiting for rational decision can leads to huge loss. In my opinion the decision cannot be judge by it's rationality alone, one should also consider the situation in which decision has been taken.

The first reason to believe that the emotional decisions will not always perfect to take is of Adolf Hitler. Hitler's decision about genocide of Jew race was largely driven by his hatred towards them, thus it was more of a emotional than rational decision. This hatred made him so blond that he applied very poor logic on some bettle fronts, and in result he failed to achieve victory. Although some might argue that his decision was unethical so that he failed, pragmatically it was not ethics who failed him but the baseless justifications of his actions which ruined him.

More over if we continue with the World War Two further, the decision to use atomic power on Japan was also emotion driven. After failing to secure Pearl Harbor front, America could not resist the strong emotions to run over ethics. There might have been other possibilities, and killing the civilians in any war is unethical, but still the decision to launch 'Big Boy', on Hiroshima was taken. In result millions died, and even more crippled and future generations are still observing serious effects.

On the other side, some situations are relatively complex and rationality or ethics, not always give a way out. it's like a maze every way seems similar, but if we take the way driven by gut feeling, we might have a justification to going further, and that might be the only chance to survive. The survival stories of lost crew from Peru, who stuck in the ice fields of Andies and came out after three months of deadly winter, might support that, it was the hope and the strong urge to survive, which kept them alive.

In summation, it is unfair to evaluate a decision on the basis of its rationality alone, one must step in the shoes of decision maker, and after careful observation of situation, we might can judge the decision. The emotion driven decision may not always work, so that of rational ones.