The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The business manager has shared a memorandum raising a concern regarding the news broadcasted in late-night shows. He has suggested to include weather and local news in all the news programs which might help in reducing complaints. I strongly disagree with the managers's suggestion. there should be more research done before changing the content of news on the shows.

it is observed that the most of the complaints received from the viewers are related to the coverage of weather and local news. this statement does not provide sufficient information about the complaints. we need more details and find out the patterns of the complaints. What are the different types, particular timing when most complaints are registered, locations from we are getting the complaints. If we have all these data, we can find out a main concern for majority of the viewers and take actions accordingly.

further, it is mentioned that the local businesses has stopped advertising during the late night shows.

there are other factors which can also influence their decesion in reduced advertising. they might be struggling with the business and would have taken this decision to control the profit, or they might be using some other way of advertising which could be more effective for them. More research is needed before jumping to conclusion and take decisions which can hamper the business more.

The business manager has asked to include weather and local news in all the late-night shows. this action can do more damage to them instead of getting more viewers. The news will become more repetetive, the content would be redundent which might make viewers less interested . instead they should identify particluar slot or period in which local and weather news can be broadcasted. The viewers would be more aware about the timings and will watch the shows according to interests. it can further increase advertising for the station. they can allocate advertises also according to the news show. More local advertises can be shown during local new shows.

After going through all these examples, alternate options and implications, we can say that the current market study is not sufficient to take major decisions like these. The manager should spend some more time in collecting data and analyze that to find the exact reason in viewers decline. this study will help them to take more practical and relevent decisions instead of taking decisions in hurry. they might found some intersting pattern or observations in study which can help thier business also.