The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

test

The scenario deals with the reduction in weather and local news time over national news time and its impact. Management feels it has affected their advertisement business within the local entrepreneur. An idea to increase weather and local time could not bring the desired result.Deeper analysis and results should be reviewed to proceed to with next steps.

User complaints about weather and local news do not state the actual reason; Reason could be due to the reduction in time on weather or local news or both. Concerns were not specified properly, content telecasted on weather or local news could also be a reason for concern. It could also be due to external factors like presenter, wardrobe, bulletins showed during the telecast. Reduction in local news time might have led to the cancellation of advertisements from the local business group. There could be multiple reasons and factors that could be a concern, timing of local and weather news could also affect viewers, viewers could be interested some other program telecasted during that time like football world cup. They could have requested to prepone weather and local news time so that they can view both the shows without an issue. But factors could not be clearly derived from the memorandum.

Surveys, viewer polls, reviews can be used as tools to find the actual factors and could be used as a driving factor to improve the program. External or rival channel broadcasts might be a factor for cancellation of local advertisement. Local business field study and offers on advertisements could bring new contracts. Increase in national news time over weather and local news needs to be validated. The case study on the reason for an increase in national news time and current scenario can be compared to analyze the time change and its effects, the reason for initial change time should also be added for comparison. Overall advertisement revenue might have been increased in spite of the drop in the local business advertisement, business drop due to local advertisement might be negligible when compared with the overall result. Talks or meetings with local businesses on cancellation of their advertisement could expose the major roadblock and the distance between both ends can be concluded with the common middle point that benefits both factors.

The memorandum doesn't specify the issues and solution clearly, provided solution may or may not work until other factors are considered. High-level analysis, the inclusion of previous results and feedbacks, survey or poll results, feedback from local businesses on advertisement and other contributing factors should be included in decision making.