The following is a memorandum from the marketing department of a computer manufacturer.

“We need a new strategy in our ads promoting our line of laptop computers. Surveys show that laptop purchasers consider reliability more important than any other quality. Thus, we should highlight that our Compulink laptop is the most technologically advanced laptop you can buy and that it uses the same hardware that NASA uses in its computers on the space station. We should also point out that our customers will save money because they won’t have to bring their Compulink laptop in for costly repairs. This approach is sure to increase our market share.”

Write a response in which you examine the underlying assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument hinges on these assumptions. Comment on how any additional information could affect the argument.

The marketing department of Compulink laptops concluded that highlighting their laptops are the most technologically advanced and uses the same hardware that NASA does helps their market share. They also wanted to point out that the customers won’t have to bring their laptops in for costly repairs. Both the strategies were based on the survey which says that laptop consumers look for reliability rather than any other quality. I would say the conclusions drawn by the department are precipitous as there are many preassumed facts while framing them.

Highlighting that the hardware used in the laptops tantamount to that of NASA’s might be impressive but there is no mention of any facts that the consumers want such laptops. The hardware used by NASA for the byzantine computations is very advanced and is superfluous for an individual who wants a laptop for usual work. The customers will not be ready to waste their money on hardware that they won’t make complete use of.

Stating that the customers will save money as they would not have to bring their laptops in for pocket draining repairs may not be a good idea too. As the survey suggests that customers look for reliability, they expect the laptops to be fail proof. They probably will try to buy a laptop that does not need repairs. So touting that the repairs won’t be costly will not work.

Boasting about the features of its own product is essential for a company. But giving a statement about their laptop saying it is the most technologically advanced laptop may backfire if not true. In a very competitive market, where there are new models launching every two months, such a statement needs to be properly verified. It should be used for advertising only when confirmed that it is true.

Instead of these strategies that are not germane, the marketing agency can try various other methods. As an alternative to saying that customers will spend less on repairs, the department can offer a warrenty cover for a predefined period that covers the costs of certain repairs. This allows the customers understand how confident the company is about its product. This also enhances reliability by assuring that there won’t be repairs and if they do, the company covers the costs.

The advertisements can also present different laptops for all kinds of needs. People use laptops for various purposes; few use it for gaming, few for work, few for studies and browsing. The specifications needed by people vary with the type of work they perform. So the ads can showcase laptops with varying specifications for varying tasks. This helps to catch the eyes of specific customers as the ads are now personalized for them. Making such improvements will help the company to increase their market share.