Claim: The study of a nation’s prominent historical leaders and figures is a poor way to study its history.

Reason: The clearest lens through which to view a nation’s history is the welfare of its entire population.

Develop a response to the claim in which you discuss whether or not you agree with it. Focus specifically on whether or not you agree with the reason upon which the claim is based.

As students, we all might have read about the great leaders we had. Their struggle to make the country better had inspired us all. Eventhough there are a lot of leaders from time to time we admire and cherish, there are many other we ignore or fail to even recognise. These forgotten heros also take with them the stories of many other lives they have changed or they were changed by. Just as we missed the lives of such leaders, we also miss many lives of the total population. Hence, it is important for us to also study the welfare of the entire population to know a nation’s history.

The leaders we lionize come from many parts of the nation but not all. The leaders we study only show us the lives they’ve touched but forfiet many other. Knowing the changes made by such people in various places would be sufficient to know about their lives but to know the nation’s history, it would just be superficial. The regions that did not have such leaders and the regions that could not have the influence of other leaders also play a crucial part in the country which needs to be considered.

For example, considering only the places which gave India great freedom fighters will not be sufficient to completely know the struggle for independence. We need to know about the kingdoms that have fallen and conquered by the British empire, the lives of people who were looted every now and then and also about the people who are treated miserably. All these stories didn’t have a leader at that point of time, but helped create many. Studying such incidents helps us to draw a path which lead the country to fight. Hence, it is crucial to count in the welfare of the total population.

As few people might argue that leaders are influenced by the people’s lives, and hence studing them is analogous to studying the people too. This can be wrong in many cases as the leaders are influenced not by all the people in the country, only by the people around. The leaders lives although might have influenced a larger part of the population, lack of communication in antedate times might not have reached societies in remote places. The people in these places have their stories too, which are to be properly studied for the nation’s history.

Considering that the nation’s prominent leaders always do not touch or bring into account the prosperity or welfare of all the people in a country; and that their lives play a significant role in understanding the then situations and scenarios in the nation, their lives are to be studied too. Ignoring to do so might give a good understanding of the nation’s history but will definitely fail to give an accurate one.