Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Although science and technology have managed to solve a substantial amount of problems in the past as well as the present, the claim that science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society's problems seems very farfetched. Therefore I disagree with the claim of the author.

The main point of debate that goes against the claim is the topic of God and philosophy. Yes, technology and its machines can solve our physical problems and even perhaps think objectively on our behalf but can it delve into the world of philosophy? In the words of the great scientist Albert Einstein who believed that there are laws of physics itself that are unexplainable by science alone and that indicate the presence of some greater force that has shaped the world as it is today. If the earth was tilted even one degree more on either side, life on earth wouldn't have existed as we know it as it would have been too cold. Building upon this argument, often when we discover something that is revolutionary, we also create other problems. It takes years to solve even one of those problems and sometimes they are not even solvable.

Secondly, the question of morality comes into the picture. Yes, a computer can tell you right from wrong based on the facts but it can't account for human morality and compassion. For example, a robber who is robbing a bank for material gains and a poor farmer robbing a store for some food, both will be held equally guilty and given punishment as per the law. But human compassion will sentence the robber to a greater punishment than the farmer.

Lastly, machines and science cannot work independently on their own. They need people to help them operate and this itself can create problems. Further problems of various religions and belief systems are not quantifiable. Thus in essence science, cant solve those problems. Science and technology are very objective domains that can solve quantifiable problems that we face. But they can either think as humans do nor show the same compassion, practicality, etc. The human brain is a complex organ that probably cant ever be replicated by a machine.

In conclusion, it is very unlikely that science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society's problems. The inherent complexities of societies are not one that lends themselves to being solved by one field or another. There will always be problems within societies, even if only those which result from human nature itself.