The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The present of the doll company assert that the business could be more lucrative as they produce dolls with higher quality and make it more durable, given that a survey which majorities complained about their doll is out of use soon, and 80% their parents would recommend them to friends if they can be more durable. However, this plausible rationcination has three questions to be answered to gauge its validity.

The first question is that if the survey is valid and representative. How do they collect the survey would cast doubuts on the conclusion. For instance, when facing a survey by email, majority will not respond to it, therefore the data is only collected is only by a small fraction of its users and the results drawn from such data can be highly biasd. Therefore, until the designer of the survey justified the credibility of the survey, it would be more salient to hold a skeptical view on its results.

Then another questions can be "is the fact that doll out of usage soon due to the quality of its material?". There are many reasonable explanations other than the material. One feasible answer can be that children are just feeling insipid after a transient interet when playing with such dool. In this case, they company are suggested to redesign this doll and make children's interest on the doll more longlasting. Then manufacturing doll with better material would only make their profit more scarce.

Even thought that the anwers for previous two questions favor the president's argument, it is still essential to ask if the extra revenue is outweighted its cost when making dolls with better material. Here we assumed that both old and new version dolls earns same amout of profits. Given that the profit constitutes two components, revenue and cost. If the results is that the production of better dolls cost much higher in totall cost, which is greater than the extra revenue it brings, then the company could only comfront the decline in its profit.

In conclusion, there are at least three questions to be answered before asserting the increasing profitability of the new doll.