"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the prompt above believes that we should no longer invest our resources in manned space flights because of his assumptions regarding high costs and the risk astronauts are put through. In result he argues that unmanned space probes are much more efficient in terms of gathering information without the costs and risks associated with sending men & women into space. He makes several unwarranted assumptions regarding manned space flight which does not give any clarity in support of his argument.

Firstly, although his recent report of successes show that unmanned space probes and satellites have proved useful in gathering information, there are no supporting evidence to what the survey set for this report is. Whether these reports re comparable to the sightings made in manned space mission. The authors suggests the great deal of useful information collected by unmanned space probes but fails to describe the kind of information or even the domain of it. The space exploration has many aspects ranging from exploration of the terrain, gathering information regarding the soil, air and water, therefore is unwise to suggest a vague statement like "unmanned space probes have helped in gathering information". The information here could have related to only one kind of space exploration and thus the author is naive to suggest that unmanned space flights are better than those manned ones.

Secondly, it is not clear from the excerpt whether the costs involved in an unmanned space probe is higher or lower than that of a manned one. It only talks about costs involved which could be higher given the technology we need to put into space for it to function without human involvement. Moreover, to the common readers, it could look like more technology put in, more maintenance might be required thus increasing the costs of unmanned space flights.

Lastly, the author talks about the precarious situations we put our astronauts in by sending them into space, thus suggesting unmanned space flights. Astronauts are well trained and educated about their missions before they are launched into space, therefore reducing the chances of any mishap. Additionally, we as readers space travel might looks extraordinarily difficult and dangerous, it might not be so. We are not provided with any figures relating to mortality rates or accidents that have happened in space by the author, therefore it appears to be unwise to just believe that manned space travel is dangerous.

The author although wants to change the way space travels are made in terms of human involvement, he fails to provide supporting evidences for his argument. He also should provide information regarding the calibre of unmanned space probes in comparison to the manned travel, to make his argument stronger. In suggesting his assumptions without proper evidences he is urging the nation to invest in something that might be even more dangerous than effective.