“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

Many in the world even today have a predisposed notion that Men and Women are not equally suited for many tasks because of their inherent physical differences. However true that in terms of evolution Men & Women do have glaring physical differences in terms of physical strength but in the modern society women have proved to be equally competent as men for many of the tasks. In the modern world where physical labour is not as important anymore, men and women are now equally suited for many tasks.

From a biological point of view, it can be said that women are not evolved for heavy physical labour. The physical differences in terms of upper body strengths, developed muscles a man is far more genetically evolved than a woman and is more capable of completing physicals tasks like manual labour. However, in times like today physical labour has already been replaced by machines. Therefore it doesn't seem wise to set physical labour as a benchmark for tasks conducted to see the competency of men & women.

Many of today's tasks involve intellectual abilities rather than physical abilities like in most of business fields and educational fields. Intellectual abilities have no effect of physical differences and it thus makes a fair competition to see who is more suited for the job irrespective of gender. For example, in all businesses today the ability to make decisions if favour of the business, networking and education level is required over physical attributes. A person with a higher educational degree, more work experience and the required skillset is more likely to get hired for a job in comparison to a person with better physical strength.

In fact, emotional strength is far more valued in the world we live in today over the physical strength. In the earlier times the work done by men were considered more valuable because the world was all about physical prowess, survival of the fittest was quite literal. In the contrary today a person who has the ability to make better social decisions and has better empathetic values is likely to survive.

Not just in business world but also in academic world women have been proving all theories wrong that say physical differences justify the value they put to the work. When computers weren't advanced enough to make cosmic calculations, scientists depended on women to calculate the numbers. This shows that women are equally competent for all tasks despite their inherent physical difference from men. People's role have changed as they no longer have to protect themselves and their societies against physical enemies and therefor innate physical ability has very little to do with survival in the modern world.