While the department of education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework everyday the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily

In the given argument, the author recommends teachers in schools not to assign homework to students for more than two days a week, based on data from surveys. However, to validate the author's argument, three important questions must be answered.

First of all, can teachers of high school math and science be representative for all teachers of subjects other than science and math or those who teach other sections of schools rather than high school? It might be possible that due to the nature of subjects like math and science, it is suitable not to burden the students, taking those courses, with everyday homework. The teachers of science and math might follow a system which provides a student with enough time to understand the concepts to the core ideas, before diving into the homework. There is also a possibility that subjects other than science and math, require everyday homework, so as to keep the students in touch with the subject's learning, thus helping efficient learning. If any of these scenarios is true, the argument of the author can be less effective.

Secondly, is the information about trends in the districts of Sarlee and Marlee collected in a scientific and unbiased manner? It might happen that the teachers who reported about their formulae of assigning homework, teach disjoint subjects, which have different requirements in terms of frequency of homework assignment. It might also happen that the number of teachers participating in the surveys from the districts of Sarlee and Marlee are different in number. These kinds of situations might lead to the results being skewed, thus weakening the author's argument.

Last of all, are the test difficulty standards and school policies same for both students in Marlee and Sarlee? The difficulty of tests might be comparatively less for the students in Marlee, thus reducing the chances of failure and increasing the chances of good grades. It might also be possible that the schools in Marlee have a lenient policy in deciding pass or fail for students. They might be lowering the passing criteria so as to portray themselves as a better educational institution. These assumptions if false will as well lead to the weakening of the author's argument.

Hence, it is evident that the argument of the author does not hold water as of now. If the author provides additional information in the following three fronts: opinion of non-high school, non-science and non-math teachers, details about data collection and comparability of the schools in Marlee and Sarlee, we would be in a better position to evaluate the recommendation that the author gives.