The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Humana University suggests that the school should initiate the online degree programs like Omni in order to increase incoming and expect receiving the same gain as Omni. However, the argument is rife with skewed assumptions that the author has to deal with.

Firstly, the writer claims that the number of students enrolling online degree by nearby Omni University has increased by 50 percent and implies that the same strategy will work in Humana University. Still, the assumption here is that the field of Humana and Omni University are identical. It is possible that Humana University is famous of its medicine field and it requires students to attend the experiments courses. In contrast, Omni University is a literature academy where students are not required to do experiments in the laboratory and could present their writing online instead. Even Humana University open online courses, students are unlikely to enroll them because students have to go to the campus after all. Therefore, the author has to deal with the argument to make it more convincing.

Besides, the argument says that the data from Omni is only last year. It is based on the assumption that it would receive the same growth in the following years. However, it is possible that the students have trouble with online programs, because slow internet could give promptly response from teachers. They complain about the poorly teaching quality of it and would not to participate online program anymore. Thus, the enrollments in the next year drops a lot. The president should take care of the reliability of the data before making any vital decision.

Additionally, the argument said that there is also a considerable decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and it seems that it's a advantageous effect from online programs and helps decrease the cost of maintaining fee in Humana University. However, it is assumed that the cost of the maintenance would decrease as Omni. A probable explanation is that those who enrolled online programs of Humana University still live in the dormitories, because Humana University is a technology university and would require students to perform a lot of experiments courses. And pupils must go to laboratory every day, therefore they are likely to live in the dormitory instead of out of campus. Thus, the reduced cost of maintaining building is conceivably unattainable.

Moreover, the writer said that the enrollment of Humana University is barely to grow and cost of maintaining buildings has increased. It causes a financial issue. Nevertheless, the assumption is that the declined enrollment is caused by insufficient of online program. It is possible that the academic reputation of Humana University has decreased last three years. The ranking of related field has drops from 30th to 100th because of drastically lacking published papers or research. Therefore, fewer and fewer students would like to enroll in programs in Humana University even it initiates online courses. The president must answer the detailed of academic status of Humana University to make the argument more cogent.

In conclusion, unless the author addresses the assumption mentioned properly, the readers could not believe in the argument.