The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following petition to city council of Centerville to ban use of cellphones on sidewalk is, on first thought, a thought-out measure taken to reduce road rage. But if you at it closely, there are some issues with it.

Firstly, the petition does not clearly states the reason behind an increase in sidewalk rage over the past three years. It's not just the use of cellphones on the sidewalk that can cause irritation amongst the users of sidewalk. There can be various reasons behind it, such as cyclists and skateboarders using the sidewalk, improper littering of pets on it or rude behaviour of other people using sidewalks. It could be any number of things, and the point of banning cellphones can be countered on the above point.

Speaking of being countered, the petition does not state how many of percentage of these sidewalk rage incidents in Centerville were actually caused due to a person using cellphone. The petition does not even state the number of incidents, let alone the percentage of these incidents caused due to the it. If the general reason behind a problem is not found out, and some other solution is provided, then it will not solve the root of that problem. Same holds for the stated reason in this paragraph.

And the biggest flaw is of human assumption i.e. if one thing holds up at one place, then other thing should hold up at another place. The petition in mainly dependent on the data fetched from the Middletown that the ban of cellphones there has reduced sidewalk outrage significantly. Due to the stated fact in above paragraph that the general problem of the sidewalk range in Centerville could very well be different that of the Middletown, there is a likelihood that the problem would not be solved in Centerville even if the cell phones are banned from the use of sidewalk.

I would like to say that the petition does aim to reduce the sidewalk rage, but the petition would need to be a bit more comprehensive in terms of the statistics and general public opinion in order to strengthen it.