The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt highlights one of the problems in Centerville which is the increase in the number of rage among sidewalk walkers from past three years and it was emphasized that the main reason for this is increase usage of mobile phones while walking. The major prone to this problem are the children which are too short to be seen as while texting people may bump into other walkers and can also slow down the traffic. The issue is resolved by banning of the mobile phone on roads for the walkers and it results in significant decline in the incidents number. The succeeding paragraph highlights all these reasons one by one and enlightens some of the possible considerations which may strengthen the given argument.

First of all, it was stated that the cause of sidewalk rage is mobile phone use as it results number of factors which frustrate others but there is no evidence regarding this to prove it. However, it may be possible that the cause of bump into others may be distraction of a person by sightseeing and his indulgent in some thoughts or may be the individual having near sightedness. Furthermore, these reasons can also slow down the traffic. To add more, there may be number of other reasons also, so the argument needs to be strengthened by giving appropriate statistical evidence to prove this idea.

Secondly, the argument is completely flawed by stating that ban on the usage of mobile phone results in the diminishing of these fights as it not provide any appropriate content supporting it. On the contrary, it may be possible that with the advancement in technology from past three years people started buying vehicles and the number of pedestrians may decrease on the roads which results in decrease in the cause of such accidents and thus less rage among masses. Thus, argument can be supported by comparison of data before and after and the population over which the data is taken.

Thirdly, one of the reasons which make this argument weak is that the ban is applied in the Middletown which lead to the tail off in the number of such incidents but no such evidence is given that such incidents occur prominently in the Middletown and no data about hometown is given. Hence, the argument can be approved by stating the divisions of these outrages in the city and how the application of ban helps in the laying of the problem.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion has failed to provide information on the above mentioned argument. Thus, there is need to support the argument with detailed and comprehensive analysis of the various points stated and the conclusion should be supported with the statistical data.